Bitter Battle for 2nd place in Division 

Today’s Ogden Marathon was a fight against Mother Nature and my very uncooperative right shoelace.


Despite the fact that rain and wind were both predicted in today’s weather forecast, I don’t think any of the runners where quite prepared to face it today. Especially after last year’s cold and rainy marathon. Despite the fact that it drizzled the entire time we waited for the start, it was relatively warm and free of wind. I kept both the towel and garbage bag I had brought with me hoping to stay dry as long as possible. The towel I dropped in the first mile. The garbage bag I wore for 21. While it did little to actually keep me dry, it was an added layer to protect me from the 20+ mph wind. At one point, the wind and rain were so strong, they stung as they struck my face and it was all I could do to make any significant forward progress.

Then there was my stubborn shoelace that wouldn’t stayed tied. And as I discovered, it’s nearly impossible to tie your shoes when you can’t feel your fingers.  I stopped probably 4 times before it occurred to me to double knot them.  The incessant shoe tying cost me valuable minutes that I was unfortunately unable to regain. The plus side is I didn’t lose any more time during the race.

Finally at about mile 18, the rain stopped and the wind mostly died down. The good thing about wicking fabrics is they dry quickly! And while it wasn’t my fastest marathon ever, I did manage to claim my first ever Age Group award in a marathon…and redeem myself after an awful Boston by requalifying for Boston next year!!! (Hotel reservations have already been made.)

About runs in skirts

I'm a runner first and foremost. I love all things running and racing. I support my addiction to RunningSkirts® and racing as a flight attendant.
This entry was posted in running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

