Ogden Marathon 10 Year Club

I just completed my eighth Ogden Marathon and I’m well on my way to completing my goal of joining the 10 Year Club. I’m really not sure why I have this fascination with the 10yr club. It may have to do with the fact that my first Ogden was the 10th Anniversary of the race. Much ado was made for those that had run it every year. Admittedly I was envious of their accomplishment. I was relatively new to running and racing at the time. It was only my second Marathon ever in 2010 and I was still trying to better my time and, quite frankly, just figure out exactly what I was doing. I have run many races since including the runner’s ultimate dream…Boston. I’m still not sure exactly what I’m doing, but I have learned a lot since…especially how unpredictable a Marathon is. Not matter how much training you do or in my case lately, how little, you just never know how a Marathon is going to go until you cross the start line.

I no longer to feel the need to race simply because I can. I have become much more selective about the races I choose. I have not, however, lost my love for my hometown Marathon. It is still my favorite race…there is something elusive about it and the views on the course are amazing.

Someone asked me at the finish line Saturday if I was trying to qualify for Boston. I said, “no.” He asked me my time and age. I told him. He said, “that’s a BQ.” I said, “I know, but my goal today was just to enjoy the experience.” I am hugely content with my 3:41. I’ve run faster and I’ve run slower, but rarely have I ever enjoyed a race so much with no pressure to finish under a certain time.

As I registered today for my ninth Ogden and responded to the questions about how many Ogden marathons I’d run and whether I be joining the 10yr club in 2018, I felt the same as I did the year I “only ran the marathon” during Disney marathon weekend. There is no only about it. It was a huge reminder to me to celebrate my accomplishments and appreciate my ability to run 26.2 miles.

#ogdenmarathon #runningskirtsambassador #runningskirts #runlove #marathon #running

About runs in skirts

I'm a runner first and foremost. I love all things running and racing. I support my addiction to RunningSkirts® and racing as a flight attendant.
This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

